LibGuides: Theology: Home

Baptism
by Helen Howell Last Updated Aug 7, 2024 448 views this year
Augustine
by Grace Burnett Last Updated May 1, 2023 12 views this year
Eschatology and Ecclesiology
by Helen Howell Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 96 views this year
Genesis
by Grace Burnett Last Updated Apr 28, 2023 72 views this year

Key Search Terms

Keyword Strategies
For help finding a keyword strategy in your research, refer to this website.

Common Categories in Systematic Theology

The Doctrine of God
- The Trinity
- Divine Decrees
- Creation
- Providence
The Doctrine of Man
- Imago Dei
- Original Sin
- Covenants
The Doctrine of Christ
- Humiliation & Exaltation
- Atonement
- Offices of Prophet, Priest, and King
The Doctrine of Redemption
- Soteriology
- Common Grace
- Mystical Union
- Regeneration
- Faith, Justification, and Sanctification
The Doctrine of the Church
- Church government
- Means of Grace
- Sacraments
Eschatology
- Death & the immortality of the soul
- Resurrection of the dead
- Final Judgement

Offerings from JSTOR

Wondering about journal options from JSTOR? Find Theology related resources in the following JSTOR collections or by searching key terms in the database.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Collection
See titles in this collection as of July 2024.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
See titles in this collection as of July 2024.

Finding Theology in Tyndale Library

Complete Dewey Subheadings for Theology
View a list of Dewey subheadings for Theology from 200 - 299.

Theology Around the Web

Glossary of Theological Terms
Find search terms or definitions here as well as possible sources and quotes from theologians, creeds, and confessions.
Church History Outline
Find Church history dates and events outlined in this helpful timeline that runs from the birth of Christ to the present day.
Bible Timeline Resources
Find a helpful timeline of Bible events at Answers in Genesis. This website is complete with many helpful resources and articles.
5 Minutes in Church History
Find episodes on Church History in this 5 minute podcast.

Note that sources from around the web contain a variety of doctrinal positions.

Theology Related Periodicals

Answers Magazine
Publication Date: 2010 - Current
Physical copies from 2010 onward. Tyndale also maintains access to Answers online magazines through our open database collection.
Christian History
Find physical copies from 2004 - 2008 in Tyndale library.
Christianity & Society
Find physical copies from 1994 - 1996 and 1999 - 2006 in Tyndale library.
Christianity Today
Find physical copies from 2017 onward at Tyndale Library.
Church History
Find physical copies spanning from 1939 - 1957 at Tyndale library.
Credenda Agenda
Find physical copies at Tyndale library.
Faith & Philosophy
Find physical copies from 2017 - 2019 at Tyndale library.
Fight, Laugh, Feast
Find physical copies from 2020 onward at Tyndale library.
First Things
Find physical copies from 2018 onward at the Tyndale library. Access digital copies through your Populi login in the database collection.
Focus on the Family
Find physical copies at Tyndale library.
HIS Magazine
Find physical copies from 1949 - 1986 at Tyndale library.
Journal of Biblical Literature
Find physical copies ranging from 1995 - 2004 at Tyndale library.
Reformed Perspective
Find physical copies at Tyndale library.
Theological Studies
Find physical copies from 1941 - 1955 and 1957 - 2002 at Tyndale library.
Touchstone
Find physical copies from 2016 - 2022 at Tyndale library.
The Westminster Theological Journal
Find physical copies from 2017 onward in Tyndale library.
World Magazine
Find physical copies at Tyndale library.

Theology Databases

Find pertinent databases to support your theology research.

Open Access

Answers Magazine Gain free access to the latest issues of Answers Magazine (physical issues available for browsing at Tyndale Library), the periodical of Answers in Genesis, an apologetics ministry dedicated to "providing answers to questions about the Bible--particularly the book of Genesis--regarding key issues such as creation, evolution, science, and the age of the earth." Published quarterly.
Bible Study Resources Dozens of links to primary and secondary sources in theological and biblical studies, compiled by Bryan College Library.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library This link opens in a new window The mission of the Christian Classics Ethereal Library is to build up the church by making classic Christian writing available and promoting its use.
Dordt Digital Collections Content includes conference papers, research, theses, presentations, publications, and special collections by faculty, students, and staff at Dordt College.
Open Access Digital Theological Library A curated digital collection of Open Access Theological content (eBooks, articles, journals, databases) which includes high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
Reformed Books Online The Best, Free, Biblical, Reformed Books and Articles Online. Provides the best theological literature from 1800 to today available for free on the internet. Select works from the reformation and puritan periods are included as well.
Reviews of Biblical and Early Christian Studies RBECS.org is a peer-reviewed, online open-access publication (ISSN 2053-4329) that covers recent book-length contributions in the fields of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, 2nd Temple Judaism, New Testament, Early Christianity and Rabbinics.
Theological Librarianship An open access journal publishing essays, columns, critical reviews, bibliographic essays, and peer-reviewed articles on various aspects of theological librarianship and its contribution to theological education. The purposes of Theological Librarianship are to foster the professional development of theological librarians and to contribute to and enrich the profession of theological librarianship.

Includes both free and purchasable resources

Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) This link opens in a new window The Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) is a library of over 23,275 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 145 different institutions. TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies.

Login through Populi

First Things Gain digital access to the latest issues of "America's most influential journal of religion and public life" (physical issues available for browsing at Tyndale Library), and read exclusive online content. Published monthly. (See more info - access requires sign in)
Scroll down to the "Periodical Archives" section of the links list and use the sign in information to access the collection.
JSTOR Access a collection of academic journals via the referral link above, or visit jstor.org and login with Google, using your NSA email address.

Find the Religion & Philosophy Collection in EBSCO using Ctrl Find for "Religion and Philosophy Collection." Login using Latah County library and zipcode.

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Scholarly content for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Theology: Home

Contents

Key Search Terms

Common Categories in Systematic Theology

The Doctrine of God

Offerings from JSTOR

Reference Sources

The Reformation Study Bible

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church

A Guide to Biblical Commentaries and Reference Works

The Oxford Handbook of Reformed Theology

Dictionary of Luther

Augustine Through the Ages

The Geneva Bible 1560 Edition

Zondervan NIV Exhaustive Concordance

The Jerome Biblical Commentary

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible

Finding Theology in Tyndale Library

Theology Around the Web

Theology Related Periodicals

Theology Databases

Just getting started with theology? Need an overview? Watch the Basics!