Greek Lyric Poets
by
Callinus,Tyrtaeus, Mimnermus, Solon, Xenophanes,Theognis, Archilochus, Hipponax, Alcman, Stesichorus, Alcaeus, Sappho, Ibycus, Anacreon, Simonides, Pindar, Scolla, Aeschylus, Plato
Greek Melic Poets
by
A collection of Greek poems concerning human interest.
Hesiod Theogony
by
This translation contains an introduction, commentary and interpretive essay and well as numerous notes and annotations to provide the history and background of the epic, and the mythological context in which it is placed. Hesiod's straightforward account of family conflict among the gods is the best and earliest evidence of what the ancient Greeks believed about the beginning of the world. Includes Hesiod's "Works and Days", lines 1-201, and material from the Library of Apollodorus.
Hesiod
by
Hesiod belongs to the transitional period in Greek civilization between the oral tradition and the introduction of a written alphabet. His two major surviving works, the Theogony and the Works and Days, address the divine and the mundane, respectively. The Theogony traces the origins of the Greek gods and recounts the events surrounding the crowning of Zeus as their king. A manual of moral instruction in verse, the Works and Days was addressed to farmers and peasants.
Introducing his celebrated translations of these two poems and of the Shield, a very ancient poem of disputed authorship, Apostolos Athanassakis positions Hesiod simultaneously as a philosopher-poet, a bard with deep roots in the culture of his native Boeotia, and the heir to a long tradition of Hellenic poetry. For this eagerly anticipated revised edition, Athanassakis has provided an expanded introduction on Hesiod and his work, subtly amended his faithful translations, significantly augmented the notes and index, and updated the bibliography. Already a classic, Hesiod: Theogony, Works and Days, Shield is now more valuable than ever for students of Greek mythology and literature.
The Works and Days; Theogony; the Shield of Herakles
by
Saint Gregory Nazianzen: Selected Poems
by
Translated from the Greek
Pindari Carmina; Cvm Fragmentis,
by
Poets in the original greek
Laudatory poetry, Greek.
Olympic games (Ancient)-Poetry.
Athletics-Greece-Poetry.
Mythology, Greek-Poetry.
Games-Greece-Poetry.
Bowra, C. M. 1898-1971.
Greek Lyric
by
This volume contains the poetic fragments of the two illustrious singers of early sixth-century Lesbos: Sappho, the most famous woman poet of antiquity, whose main theme was love; and Alcaeus, poet of wine, war, and politics, and composer of short hymns to the gods. Also included are the principal testimonia, the ancients' reports on the lives and work of the two poets.
Content
v. 1. Sappho, Alcaeus -- v. 2. Anacreon, Anacreontea -- v. 3. Stesichorus, Ibycus, Simonides, and others -- v. 4. Bacchylides, Corinna, and others -- v. 5. The new school of poetry and anonymous songs and hymns.
Greek and Latin Anthology
by
These volumes render anew into English verse choice examples of bygone Classical inspiration, wreathing a single twentieth-century garland from some four and twenty gardens of Ancient Greek and Roman poesy.
The Greek anthology
by
The Greek Anthology, first collection of verse so called, contains some four thousand epigrams, the flower-drift from the centuries that betided between the ancient wars of Greece against Asia and the final collapse of the Byzantine Empire, whereby the Turks finally avenged Marathon and Salamis. Epigrams they are called, though many are above and some are below the modern meaning of the term.
Greek Poets in English Verse
by
Introduction.--Homer.--Homeric hymns.--Hesiod.--Early lyric and elegiac.--Pindar.--AEschylus.--Sophocles.--Euripides.--Aristophanes.--Theocritus.--Bion.--Moschus.--Appollonius Rhodius.--Musaeus.--The Anthology.--Proclus.
Greek Poetry for the everyman
by
Translated Greek poems from the Epic period (Homer) to the Roman and Early Byzantine Period
Theogony. Works and Days. Testimonia
by
In Theogony Hesiod charts the history of the divine world, narrating the origin of the universe and the rise of the gods, from first beginnings to the triumph of Zeus, and reporting on the progeny of Zeus and of goddesses in union with mortal men. In Works and Days Hesiod shifts his attention to the world of men, delivering moral precepts and practical advice regarding agriculture, navigation, and many other matters; along the way he gives us the myths of Pandora and of the Golden, Silver, and other Races of Men.
To You Simonides
by
A collection of 341 pieces of poetry chosen by Dr. Philbin, offering a mosaic of ancient Greek life.
Theocritus
by
Idylls into blank verse, as the natural equivalent of Greek or of Latin hexameters only deviating into rhyme Where occasion seemed to demand it. But I found that other metres had their special advantages the fourteen-syllable line in particular has that, among others, of containing about the same number of syllables as an ordinary line of Theocritus. And there'is also no doubt something gained by variety.
The Idylls of Theokritos: A Verse Translation
by
A key figure in the development of Western literature, the Greek poet Theocritus of Syracuse, was the inventor of "bucolic" or pastoral poetry in the first half of the third century BC. These vignettes of country life, which center on competitions of song and love are the foundational poems of the western pastoral tradition. They were the principal model for Virgil in the Eclogues and their influence can be seen in the work of Petrarch and Milton. Although it is the pastoral poems for which he is chiefly famous, Theocritus also wrote hymns to the gods, brilliant mime depictions of everyday life, short narrative epics, epigrams, and encomia of the powerful. The great variety of his poems illustrates the rich and flourishing poetic culture of what was a golden age of Greek poetry. Based on the original Greek text, this accurate and fluent translation is the only edition of the complete Idylls currently in print. It includes an accessible introduction by Richard Hunter that describes what is known of Theocritus, the poetic tradition and Theocritus' innovations and what exactly is meant by "bucolic" poetry. About the For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the broadest spectrum of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, voluminous notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
Voices of Modern Greece
by
This anthology is composed of recently revised translations selected from the five volumes of work by major poets of modern Greece offered by Edmund Keeley and Philip Sherrard during the past two decades. The poems chosen are those that translate most successfully into English and that are also representative of the best work of the original poets.
Gregory of Nazianzus
by
Greek with English translation on facing pages.
The autobiographical poems of Gregory of Nazianzus, fourth-century Father of the Greek Church, are remarkable not only for a highly individual picture of the Byzantine world but also for moments that are intimate, passionate and moving. This book contains Greek text and facing English translation of a selection from his one hundred or so surviving poems. Gregory is best known for the five orations he gave in Constantinople. Except for the poem "De Vita Sua," his work can only be read in a nineteenth-century edition and has never before been translated into English.
Poetry and society : the role of poetry in ancient Greece
by
Poetry is influenced by social conditions. It is, moreover, a mirror for social conditions, as for life and emotions. But in Ancient Greece it was more, Poetry was a forerunner of philosophical, political, and sociological thinking. Poetry acquired sufficient status to become a determinant of social forms, a guide in political experimentation, an innovator in language, a catalyst in the evolution of Greece from a primitive to a sophisticated society.
The Homeric Imagination
by
The search for the "original Homer" has become more and more a search for the originality of Homer. What stands out is a problem of values rather than of authorship and objective facts. The Homeric question has exhausted itself; we are driven to look at the poems themselves insofar as they appeal directly to our feeling and understanding. We do not know the literary scene of the Homeric age, and the isolation of Homer at once baffles and impresses us. This circumstance, however, need not hamper us. When we are so far removed from a poet, historical knowledge falters, and criticism is bound to be less literary, more broadly human. The first problem we are faced with is the way poetry conceives and expresses things, in distinction, say, from religion, or law, or tribal tradition. The Homeric poems are tantamount to a full-scale representation of reality-nature, animals, men. We may therefore reach the poet by inquiring into the picture he gives us-by seeing how true and imaginative it is. The world he describes is, after all, the same as ours. It is a common point of reference. By abstracting it from everything else and becoming familiar with his language, we may learn to look with Homeric eyes. We shall find different perspectives, but focused on the same objects; different modes of thought, but the same need of expression and representation.
Greek Poetry and Life
by
"Offered to [Gilbert Murray] ... by Oxford scholars, all at some time his colleagues and all in varying degrees his pupils."--Pref.
Editorial committee: Cyril Bailey, E.A. Barber, C.M. Bowra, J.D. Denniston, D.L. Page.
(con't.) Lyrical clausulae in Sophocles, by A.M. Dale.--The elegiacs in Euripides' Andromache, by D.L. Page.--Who played 'Dicaeopolis'? by C. Bailey.--Antistrophic variation in Aristophanes, by M. Platnauer.--Dramaturgical problems in the Ecclesiazusae, by E. Fraenkel.--On the treatment of disease in antiquity, by W.R. Halliday.-- A tragic fragment, by E. Lobel.--Teliambi, by T.F. Higham.--Erinna's Lament for Baucis, by C.M. Bowra.--The Lock of Berenice: Callimachus & Catullus, by E.A. Barber.--Telepathy and clairvoyance in classical antiquity, by E.R. Dobbs.
The epilogue of the Odyssey, by J.W. Mackail.--Gold and ivory in Greek mythology, by H.L. Lorimer.--The date of Archilochus, by A.A. Blakeway.--Kynaithos, by H.T. Wade-Gery.--The ancient grief: a study of Pindar, Fr. 133 (Bergk), by H.J. Rose.--The Niobe of Aeschylus, by A.W. Pickard-Cambridge.--Lyric iambics in Greek drama, by J.D. Denniston.--The date of the Electra of Sophocles, by A.S. Owen.--The exodos of the Oedipus tyrannus, by Sir Richard Livingstone.--Sophocles' Trachiniae, by T.B.L. Webster.
