Canterbury Tales by
Each tale is presented in the original language, with normalized spelling and substantial annotations for modern readers. Among the new added to the Second Edition are the much-requested "Merchant’s Tale" and the "Tale of Sir Thopas." "Sources and Backgrounds" are included for the General Prologue and for most of the tales, enabling students to understand The Canterbury Tales in light of relevant medieval ideas and attitudes and inviting comparison between Chaucer’s work and his sources. "Criticism" includes nine essays, four of them new to this edition, by leading Chaucerians, among them F. R. H. DuBoulay, E. Talbot Donaldson, Barbara Nolani, and Lee Patterson. A Chronology and Selected Bibliography are also included.
Defense of Poesie by
Sir Philip Sidney (1554-86) is one of the most important writers of the English Ressaissance. In this book he turns his attention to the status of poetry in England.
Edmund Spenser's Poetry by
There are selections from The Faerie Queene (Books I and III complete, important extracts from Books II and VI, and the Mutabilitie Cantos complete), as well as the Proems to Books IV and V. From the Shepheardes Calender, the June, November, and December eclogues are now included, together with January, April and October, including Amoretti sonnets Epithalamion and Fowre Hymnes, Muiopotmos and Prothalamion.
For practical convenience, individual words are glossed in the margin. The footnotes provide the student with a sensible basis for informed comprehension, avoiding over-simplification equally with needless complexity.
"E.K.," John Hughes, and Samuel Taylor Coleridge represent early critical views. Twentieth-century criticism is by Douglas Bush, Paul Alpers, Northrop Frye and others. There is also criticism from Kathleen Williams, Edwin Greenlaw, C.S. Lewis, Humphrey Tonkin and Isabel G. MacCaffrey.
The Faerie Queene by
‘Great Lady of the greatest Isle, whose lightLike Phoebus lampe throughout the world doth shine’ The Faerie Queene was one of the most influential poems in the English language. Dedicating his work to Elizabeth I, Spenser brilliantly united Arthurian romance and Italian renaissance epic to celebrate the glory of the Virgin Queen. Each book of the poem recounts the quest of a knight to achieve a virtue: the Red Crosse Knight of Holinesse, who must slay a dragon and free himself from the witch Duessa; Sir Guyon, Knight of Temperance, who escapes the Cave of Mammon and destroys Acrasia’s Bowre of Bliss; and the lady-knight Britomart’s search for her Sir Artegall, revealed to her in an enchanted mirror. Although composed as a moral and political allegory, The Faerie Queene’s magical atmosphere captivated the imaginations of later poets from Milton to the Victorians. This edition includes the letter to Raleigh, in which Spenser declares his intentions for his poem, the commendatory verses by Spenser’s contemporaries and his dedicatory sonnets to the Elizabethan court, and is supplemented by a table of dates and a glossaryFor more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Sir Philip Sidney's an Apology for Poetry, and, Astrophil and Stella by
This edition presents together Sir Philip Sidney's response to the many attacks on poetry current in early modern England, An Apology for Poetry, and his path-breaking sonnet sequence, Astrophil and Stella. The introduction provides biographical and historical contexts for reading Sidney's works, and to help students explore how the Apology arises from and intervenes in the Quarrel over Poetry, this volume provides substantial excerpts from such texts as Plato's Republic, Scaliger's Poetics, Gosson's The School of Abuse, and Richard Wiles's A Disputation Concerning Poetry (the first extended discussion of poetry in Englad). This edition also includes excerpts from Sidney's letters to his brother, Robert, and his friend, Sir Edward Denny. All the texts are newly edited, annotated, and modernized.
The Renaissance; studies in art and poetry. by
Study of the history of the Renaissance
Essays on Renaissance Poetry by
"The effect of Greek and Roman literature upon the modern literature of Europe is...a theme that must be endlessly worked out by those who profess to make the modern literatures the object of serious study."
Renaissance Poetry (English Masterpieces Volume 3) by
Collection of works from the Renaissance
The Spenser Encyclopedia by
Since its appearance in 1990, The Spenser Encyclopedia has become the reference book for scholarship on Edmund Spenser (1552-99), offering a detailed, literary guide to his life, works, and influence. Comprehensive in scope and international in outlook, the encyclopedia contains some 700 entries by 422 contributors in 20 countries. An index provides access to material not obvious at first glance through the main body of the book, and all works cited more than once in the encyclopedia are included in an extensive bibliography. A brief historical preface and a guide to using the encyclopedia are included. This paperback edition brings this tool within range of all Spenser scholars.
Companion to Chaucer Studies by
Critical essays probe the works, literary style, and influence of the medieval English poet
The Poems of John Dryden by
4 volumes containing John Dryden's poems
Essay on Man and Other Poems by
Considered the preeminent verse satirist in English, Alexander Pope (1688-1744) brought wide learning, devastating wit and masterly technique to his poems. Models of clarity and control, they exemplified the classical poetics of the Augustan age. This volume contains a rich selection of Pope's work, including such well-known poems as the title selection-a philosophical meditation on the nature of the universe and man's place in it-and The Rape of the Lock, a mock-epic of rare charm and skill. Also included are Ode on Solitude, The Dying Christian to His Soul, Elegy to the Memory of an Unfortunate Lady, An Essay on Criticism, Epigram Engraved on the Collar of a Dog, Epistle [IV] to Richard Boyle, Earl of Burlington: Of the Use of Riches, Epistle to Dr. Arbuthnot; or, Prologue to the Satires and more. Taken together, these poems offer an excellent sampling of Pope's imaginative genius and the felicitous blending of word, idea and image that earned him a place among the leading lights of 18th-century literature.
Seventeenth-century English poetry by
This is a collection of poetry from the 17th century, including Donne and Dryden and many others (excluding Milton)
"Here, the attempt has been made not only to show the full range of Lyric, but to make it possible to the reader to trace the history of such poetic forms as epic, the satire, and the verse epistle, and at least to suggest the existence of such flourishing forms as the epigram, the epitaph, and the popular song."
Seventeenth-Century English Poetry
Twenty-nine essays discussing seventeenth-century poetry generally, and the major poets of the era themselves, exclusive of Milton.
English Lyric Poetry by
English Lyric Poetry_ is a comprehensive reassessment of lyric poetry of the early seventeenth century. The study is directed at both beginning and more advanced students of literature, and responds to more specialised scholarly inquiries pursued of late in relation to specific poets. This extremely lucid and elegantly written book avoids the limitations of much recent criticism. Donne, Jonson, the Spenserians, Herbert, Milton, Marvell, Vaughan, as well as many non-canonical and women poets, all receive sustained, fresh, and detailed analysis. Jonathan Post seeks to assimilate many of the post-New Critical theoretical concerns with readings of the major and minor, male and female, authors of the period.
Byron's Poetry by
It includes eighteen of his lyrics; Cantos One, Three, and excerpts from Canto Four of Childe Harold's Pilgrimage; two verse romances, The Prisoner of Chillon and The Giaour, the latter newly receiving critical attention for its prophetically disjunctive structure; Manfred; The Vision of Judgment; and Don Juan, presented in long self-contained extracts: the First, Fifth, Ninth, and Sixteenth Cantos complete, with the close of the Second Canto. An unusually rich selection from Byron's letters and journals accompanies the poems.
The critical essays offer an integrated view of Byron's achievement as well as analyses of its different facets. Published for the first time is Bergen Evans's general essay "Lord Byron's Pilgrimage"; other essays are by John D. Jump, Michael G. Cooke, Francis Berry, Robert F. Gleckner, James R. Thompson, Frank D. McConnell, Leslie A. Marchand, and E. D. Hirsch, Jr.
A special section, "Images of Byron," presents 26 views of Byron as artist and as the epitome of the Romantic hero, ranging from the perspectives of his contemporaries to those of such modern writers as James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, T. S. Eliot, and Albert Camus.
A Chronology sets forth the main events of Byron's life, and a Selected Bibliography lists sources for further study.
The Complete Poetical Works and Letters of John Keats by
John Keats (1795–1821) was an English Romantic poet. The poetry of Keats is characterized by sensual imagery, most notably in the series of odes. Today his poems and letters are some of the most popular and most analyzed in English literature.
Lyrical ballads by
Wordsworth and Coleridge's joint collection of poems has often been singled out as the founding text of English Romanticism. Within this initially unassuming, anonymous volume were many of the poems that came to define their age and which have continued to delight readers ever since.
Plays and longer poems by
Introduction signed A. H. Koszul.
v. 1. Lyrics and shorter poems -- v. 2. Plays , translations, and longer poems.
Romantic Poetry and Prose v.4 by
v. 4 of the six volume edition of The Oxford anthology of English literature.
Includes bibliographical references.
Songs of Innocence and Experience by
Masterpieces of English lyric poetry, written and illustrated by William Blake. Songs of Innocence, published in 1789, was Blake's first great demonstration of "illuminated printing," his unique technique of publishing both text and hand-colored illustration together. The rhythmic subtlety and delicate beauty of both his lyrics and his designs created rare harmony on his pages. The poems transformed his era's street ballads and rhymes for children into some of the purest lyrics in the English language. In 1794 Blake published Songs of Innocence and of Experience: Shewing the Two Contrary States of the Human Soul. It contained a slightly rearranged version of Songs of Innocence with the addition of Songs of Experience. The poems reflect Blake's views that experience brings the individual into conflict with rules, moralism, and repression; as a result, the songs of experience are bitter, ironic replies to those of the earlier volume. The Lamb is the key symbol of Innocence; in Experience its rival image is the Tyger, the embodiment of energy, strength, lust, and aggression.
The Romantic Poets by
First published in 1953. At its best, Romantic poetry combined the creative freedom of a dream with some of the deepest facts of human experience. In this critical survey, Professor Hough examines individually the poetry of Gray, Wordsworth, Coleridge, Byron, Shelley and Keats. He sets their work firmly in the context of the major events and preoccupations of the age, clarifying the origins and growth of a poetry that emerged so swiftly and differed so radically from the Augustan age that preceded it. He asserts the importance of the Romantic experience to the tradition of literature, and its significance to the reader of today.
The Cambridge Companion to British Romantic Poetry by
More than any other period of British literature, Romanticism is strongly identified with a single genre. Romantic poetry has been one of the most enduring, best loved, most widely read and most frequently studied genres for two centuries and remains no less so today. This Companion offers a comprehensive overview and interpretation of the poetry of the period in its literary and historical contexts. The essays consider its metrical, formal, and linguistic features; its relation to history; its influence on other genres; its reflections of empire and nationalism, both within and outside the British Isles; and the various implications of oral transmission and the rapid expansion of print culture and mass readership. Attention is given to the work of less well-known or recently rediscovered authors, alongside the achievements of some of the greatest poets in the English language: Wordsworth, Coleridge, Blake, Scott, Burns, Keats, Shelley, Byron and Clare.
The Complete Poems of Emily Jane Brontë by The Complete Poetical Works of Browning by
The complete poetical works of Robert Browning
The poems and plays of Alfred lord Tennyson by
For a long time the editors of the Modern Library have wanted to include in the Giant series a definitive volume of the works of Alfred Lord Tennyson. . . . Virtually everything Tennyson ever wrote is included within its 1100 pages
The Poetical Works of Elizabeth Barrett Browning by
Brings together the lyric works of the Victorian poet best known for her love sonnets
The poetical works of Gerard Manley Hopkins by
This long-awaited complete edition of Hopkins's poetry offers serious students far more guidance than has ever been available. The texts are arranged chronologically, rhythms are clarified, thousands of words and phrases are annotated for the first time, and far greater attention is paid to his neglected early output. Compiled by one of the world's leading Hopkins scholars, the book includes an introduction, extensive commentary, and headnotes for each poem setting out intellectual or biographical background and critical responses.
Romantic and Victorian Poetry (English Masterpieces Volume 6) by
Content:
The Preromantics
The Romantics
The Victorians
The Victorian Age, Prose, Poetry, and Drama by
Classic book of poetry, prose and drama during the Victorian Age.
Greater English poets of the 19th century by
Arnold, Matthew, 1822-1888.
Browning, Robert, 1812-1889.
Byron, George Gordon Byron, Baron, 1788-1824.
Coleridge, Samuel Taylor, 1772-1834.
Keats, John, 1795-1821.
Landor, Walter Savage, 1775-1864.
Morris, William, 1834-1896.
Rossetti, Dante Gabriel, 1828-1882.
Shelley, Percy Bysshe, 1792-1822.
Swinburne, Algernon Charles, 1837-1909.
Tennyson, Alfred Tennyson, Baron, 1809-1892.
Wordsworth, William, 1770-1850.
Poets, English.
English poetry-19th century-History and criticism.
Payne, William Norton, 1858-1919.
A history of English poetry by
v.1 Missing
v.2 The Renaissance and the Reformation : influence of the court and the universities.
v.3 The intellectual conflict of the seventeenth century: decadent influence of the feudal monarch, growth of the national genius.
v.4 Development and decline of the poetic drama: influence of the court and the people.
v.5 The constitutional compromise of the eighteenth century, effects of the classical renaissance; its zenith and decline; the early romantic renaissance.
v.6 The romantic movement in English poetry, effects of the French Revolution.
