LibGuides: History: Home

Ancient History
by Sam Nyhus Last Updated May 5, 2023 275 views this year
Modern History
by Erica Worley Last Updated Jun 28, 2024 119 views this year

Key Search Terms

Keyword Strategies
For help finding a keyword strategy in your research, refer to this website.

Historical Categories

By Geography

Geography & Travel (910)
By Continent
- Europe (940 - 949)
- Asia (950 - 959)
- Africa (960 - 969)
- North America (970 - 979)
- South America (980 - 989)
- Oceania & Elsewhere (990 - 999)

By Time Period

Ancient World (930 - 939)
Medieval World (Multiple Dewey #s)
Modern World (Multiple Dewey #s)

Other Search Categories

By biography (920s)
By kings/ presidents/ rulers (Multiple Dewey #s)
Historical Information (i.e. Encyclopedias) (901 - 907)
World History Generally (909)

History by Type

World History - The study of historical events/ eras across national, regional, or cultural boundaries
National History - The study of historical events/ eras within a nation
Church History - History of God's people in the Church throughout time
Political History - The history of law, government, and legal systems
Diplomatic History - The history of international relations
Economic History - The history of economic processes and phenomena
Cultural History - The history of manners, customs, and social life
Intellectual History - The history of ideas and philosophical movements
History of Science and Medicine - The history of inventions and medical and technological development
Art History - The history of artists and art movements

Offerings from JSTOR

Wondering about journal options from JSTOR? Find Theology related resources in the following JSTOR collections or by searching key terms in the database.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII Collection
See titles in this collection as of July 2024.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
See titles in this collection as of July 2024.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
See titles in this collection as of July 2024.

Finding History in Tyndale Library

Complete Dewey Subheadings for History

What type of source is it?

Click the image above to access Historical Research Techniques

History Around the Web

History Skills for Research
Looking to find an explanation of the historical research process? This website cracks open the basics on how to research within the history discipline.
The Index of Medieval Art
Looking for visual sources from the Middle Ages? Access digital artwork through this index.
Office of the Historian
Contains historic legal and diplomatic documents from American history.
Wallbuilders Resources
Find articles on American history as well as historical artifacts, sermons, proclamations, and speeches here.
World History Encyclopedia
The free online history encyclopedia with fact-checked articles, images, videos, maps, timelines and more; operated as a non-profit organization.

History Related Periodicals

History Databases

Available through Populi login

Access World News Research Collection Looking for coverage from local newspapers and beyond? NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues via Access World News Research Collection. To access follow the link, log in to populi as prompted, and find Access World News Research Collection under the Subscription Journal/Newspaper Databases" menu at the top of the page.
JSTOR Access a collection of academic journals via the referral link above, or visit jstor.org and login with Google, using your NSA email address.
Loeb Classical Library The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

Open Access

Calisphere Provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 650,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library This link opens in a new window The mission of the Christian Classics Ethereal Library is to build up the church by making classic Christian writing available and promoting its use.
Chronicles Gain free access to Chronicles: A Magazine of American Culture, a magazine dedicated to "examining the prevailing currents of both politics and a civil society in Western Civilization with a focus on defending the traditions and history of America and the West" (physical issues available for browsing at Tyndale Library). Published monthly.
Chronicling America Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1756-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative The CDRI database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
Digital Public Library of America Search, browse, or explore millions of items in digital form representing a wealth of culture, history, and events in American history. Find photos, video, and digitized images of artifacts to support research needs. View the online exhibitions to see collections on a topic from many digital contributors.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
Europeana This link opens in a new window At Europeana we work with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research. Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Our dedicated thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions to inform and inspire.
Imprimis Gain free access to the latest issues of Imprimis, the politically conservative speech digest of Hillsdale College (physical issues available for browsing at Tyndale Library). Published monthly.
Medieval Review Reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies, a field it interprets as broadly as possible.
Open Library of the Humanities OLH is a charitable organization dedicated to publishing open access scholarship.
Sixteenth Century Journal Online access to The Sixteenth Century Journal. Click on the link from North or Main Campus to access. Digital access currently only includes 2020 to present. Access to the whole journal back to 1970 coming soon.
World Factbook
Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Find Collections in EBSCO using Ctrl Find. Login using Latah County library and zipcode.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Provides the top titles covering the most studied subject areas
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Full text content of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, video, and other history reference materials.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Full text coverage of major newspapers, videos, and podcasts covering critical news topics.

Professor Recommendations

The LIFE & TIME Index Assistant

See the following links for indices for LIFE Magazine, TIME Magazine, and digital copies available on Internet Archive.

History: Home

Contents

Key Search Terms

Offerings from JSTOR

Reference Sources

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization

The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Rome

Encyclopedia of the Early Church

Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation

Tudor England: An Encyclopedia

The Heritage Guide to the Constitution

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century

The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information

Dictionary of the History of Ideas