The Library of Congress Subject Headings online tool (LCSH for short) might be the most valuable tool in the search term tool box. Use it to locate universally recognized search terms for a wide variety of common topics.
JSTOR Collections
Discover sources from JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Collections
Literature searching is a hunt for relevant resources that will add to your research. How should you set out to find the sources that will end up filling your bibliography? This guide offers a look at best practices to find your sources from narrowing down search terms to using Boolean operators. Best of all, this guide is brief and orderly helping you to locate helpful info quickly.
Here is another helpful overview for creating a search strategy. Key terms, boolean, truncation and more are covered in this guide.
Dewey Ranges
Theses and Dissertation Databases
Search for Theses and Dissertations through these open access database collections
American Doctoral DissertationsProvides access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present. Citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is house.
Electronic Theses & Dissertations CenterETD is an online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools.
Open Access Theses and DissertationsOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
PQDT OpenProvides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
News Databases
Access World News Research CollectionLooking for coverage from local newspapers and beyond? NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues via Access World News Research Collection.
To access follow the link, log in to populi as prompted, and find Access World News Research Collection under the Subscription Journal/Newspaper Databases" menu at the top of the page.
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of major newspapers, videos, and podcasts covering critical news topics.
Jounal Databases
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowScholarly, multidiscipline, full text database for academic research. Covers the academic disciplines being offered in colleges and universities.
Directory of Open Access JournalsThis link opens in a new windowFree, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
HindawiHindawi is one of the world’s largest publishers of peer-reviewed, fully Open Access journals.
Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing InstituteMultidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute provides diverse, peer-reviewed, open access journals ensuring the latest research is freely available and all content is distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY). Content is available to everyone free of charge.
Digital Libraries, Ebooks, and Audiobooks
Christian Classics Ethereal LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe mission of the Christian Classics Ethereal Library is to build up the church by making classic Christian writing available and promoting its use.
Digital Public Library of AmericaSearch, browse, or explore millions of items in digital form representing a wealth of culture, history, and events in American history. Find photos, video, and digitized images of artifacts to support research needs. View the online exhibitions to see collections on a topic from many digital contributors.
Scroll down to the "eBooks" section of the links list and use the sign in information to access the collection.
Google BooksThis link opens in a new windowGoogle launched its own ebookstore some time ago, but the earlier book scan project, Google Book Search, is still there. Perform any search and you’ll see a list of results. If you see Preview or Full View link under the book’s title, it means you can read its scan in the browser.
Great Books and ClassicsThis link opens in a new windowA repository of primary works from classic writers and philosophers, from Sophocles to Epicurus to Sun-Tzu.
Hathi Trust Digital LibraryA partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
Internet ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowInternet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
LibriVoxA library of free public domain audiobooks.
Loeb Classical LibraryThe mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Loyal BooksThis link opens in a new windowFree public domain audiobooks and ebooks
ManyBooksAn extensive library of books in digital format for free on the Internet.
Open LibraryThe site is a project of the Internet Archive and is intended to create “one web page for every book ever published”.
There are over 1,000,000 free ebook titles available. Most of the titles are public domain, but you can also find here a growing lending library of over 200,000 contemporary ebooks.
OverdriveEnjoy Tyndale's growing collection of eBooks and eAudiobooks!
To log in selection "New Saint Andrews College" from the list of institutions and enter your Populi credentials.
Check out eBooks and eAudiobooks from a growing consortium based collection; place holds on materials that are currently checked out; download the free Libby app for access on mobile devices (see website for details).
Perseus Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowPrimary texts and research materials for Greek, Roman, Arabic, Germanic, American, and Renaissance classics.
Planet eBookFree classic literature with its mobile-friendly design and multi-format eBooks, attempts to make our collection of eBooks available on all devices.
The books we publish in Australia are all in the public domain and out of copyright. Please be sure to check the copyright laws for your country before downloading.
Project GutenbergThis link opens in a new windowProject Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which copyright has expired.
World Public LibraryThe site is a part of a global effort to “preserve and disseminate classic works of literature, serials, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference works.” All books available here are free, but not all are public domain, so reading Terms and Conditions section is recommended.
